by Todd Staley CAMERON, MO (April 22, 2000) — Mark Dotson of Cameron, Mo., picked up his first ever USMTS event on Saturday night. Dotson started the " /> by Todd Staley CAMERON, MO (April 22, 2000) — Mark Dotson of Cameron, Mo., picke"> - Dotson claims first ever USMTS checkers at Missouri’s I-35 Speedway
usmts caseys

Dotson claims first ever USMTS checkers at Missouri’s I-35 Speedway

by Todd Staley

CAMERON, MO (April 22, 2000) — Mark Dotson of Cameron, Mo., picked up his first ever USMTS event on Saturday night. Dotson started the race from the AFCO pole and led all forty laps enroute to his $2000 payday. Kevin Peters form Monmouth, IL started the race from the outside front row and finished a USMST career high second place.

John Allen from Chanute, KS was third racing right on the bumper of the 105 car of Kevin Peters with series point leader Kelly Shryock from Story City, IA right on the rear bumper of Allen. The two Hard Chargers of the event were Kerry Davis and Tom Charles. Davis won the second B-main and started from the seventh row finished fifth and Tom Charles finished third in the B-main started the A-main from the ninth row finished a strong sixth place finish.

Mark Noble who started the race from the fourth position was attempting to pass Peters in turn one and caught the only rut in the track and snapped something in the rear end ending his chances for the night. Fifty-five cars checked into the pit area for the racing action along with twenty-one street stocks and eleven chargers.

When the racing was scheduled to start the clouds started to roll in around six and started spitting rain when the first heat went out onto the track. There was one delay when the rain came down and the track was to slick to finish the fourth heat race. The cars stayed out on the track and in about five minutes the track was ready to go. It sprinkled the rest of the night, but never enough to stop the hot racing action on the track. This was the season opener at the track and a packed grandstand watched the racing action.

Twelve Kansas City area drivers made the 25-car field. Local favorite Dean Wray was involved in an early race incident with Chad Lyle that sent both cars to the rear of the field.

Heat race winners were Noble, Peters, Tommy Myer, Dotson, Wray, and Mike Chasteen. B-mainw were won by Dan Daniels and Kerry Davis. With the fourth place finish Shryock is leading the year end standings. Jim Shereck is leading the Midwest Motorsports Rookie of the Year award.

Next race is scheduled for May 23rd. USMTS is working out the details with Beatrice Speedway for this date. This will be a three-race swing in Nebraska. Wednesday will find the USMTS headed to Eagle Raceway and Thursday at U.S. 30 Speedway in Columbus, Neb.



HEAT 1: Mark Noble, Tim Donlinger, Cliff Hedges, Kerry Davis, Greg Querry.

HEAT 2: Kevin Peters, Kelly Shryock, Yancey Shepherd, Chad Huston, Dennis O’Neal.

HEAT 3: Tommy Myer, Dustin Boney, Joe Walker, Tom Charles, Troy Cordes.

HEAT 4: Mark Dotson, Dan Daniels, Justin Boney, Sterling Beard, Jeremy Miller.

HEAT 5: Dean Wray, Chad Lyle, Jerry White, Terry Van Trump, Monte Hibner.

HEAT 6: Mike Chasteen, John Allen, Rich Smith, Buz Kaster, Jimmy Lee Adair.

B-MAIN 1: Dan Daniels, Rich Smith, Tom Charles, Cliff Hedges, Gene Claxton.

B-MAIN 2: Kerry Davis, Buz Kaster, Greg Querry, Justin Boney, Sterling Beard.

A-MAIN: 1. Mark Dotson, Cameron, MO; 2. Kevin Peters, Monmouth, IL; 3. John Allen, Chanute, KS; 4. Kelly Shryock, Story City, IA; 5. Kerry Davis, Kansas City, MO; 6. Tom Charles, Bonner Springs, KS; 7. Joe Walker, Smithville, MO; 8. Buz Kaster, Kansas City, KS; 9. Dan Daniels, Humboldt, KS; 10. Rich Smith, Davenport, IA; 11. Jim Shereck, St. Louis, MO; 12. Greg Querry, Bethany, MO; 13. Cliff Hedges, Kansas City, KS; 14. Sterling Beard, Kansas City, KS; 15. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, MN; 16. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie, MN; 17. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, MN; 18. Yancey Shepherd, Gladstone, MO; 19. Justin Boney, DeSoto, KS; 20. Dean Wray, Trenton, MO; 21. Chad Lyle, Lenexa, KS; 22. Dustin Boney, Desoto, KS; 23. Mike Chasteen, Peoria, IL; 24. Gene Claxton, Kansas City, KS; 25. Tim Donlinger, Rochester, MN.

Latest Headlines

Prepare for the 2018 race season now

While just owning all the right pieces of equipment is often good enough for the tech department, the question becomes, is that good enough for you? After all, if you get injured on the…

CP-Carrillo acquires Arias Pistons brand

CP-Carrillo, Inc. and Arias Industries recently announced that CP-Carrillo will acquire the Arias Pistons brand name and trademark, and relocate their piston production to CP-Carrillo&r…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour


USMTS “Love Dirt” Ladies Hooded Wind Jacket

USMTS “Love Dirt” Ladies Hooded Wind Jacket

2017 USMTS Signature Collection. 100% polyester shell. 100% polyester mesh body and hood lining. 100% polyester woven sleeve lining. Gently contoured silhouette. Tag-free label. Three-panel hood with drawcord and toggles. Limited sizes and quantities available while supplies last.