usmts caseys

Noble wins in Webster City, becomes eighth different USMTS winner in 2000

WEBSTER CITY, IA (June 21, 2000) — Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN picked up his first USMTS victory of the season on Wednesday night at the Hamilton County Speedway. Noble driving his Dirt Works Midwest Motorsports powered modified bested the field of forty cars that checked in for the racing action.

Noble took the lead form Brad McEwan on the fourth lap and never looked back. Kelly Shryock driving his Midwest Motorsports powered Harris modified started the race from the fourth row inside jumped into second early in ther race. The racing action was hot as all drivers were racing right at the bottom of the track until about lap eight when the Jet Mod Midwest Motorsports powered car of Johnny Saathoff took the high line and started passing some of the Midwest hotshoes.

Saathoff started the race from the fifth row outside and worked his way past Mike Chasteen, Ron Jones, Brad McEwan and had his sights on series point leader Kelly Shryock. With three laps to go in the race, Saathoff worked his way past Shryock, but Noble was not in striking distance as he had put a full straightaway on second place.

All in all, there was some good racing going on throughout the A-main as drivers worked the whole racetrack and were passing cars in all areas of the track.

Jeremy Mills started the race from the AFCO pole and finished ninth. Heat race winners were Ron Jones, Kevin Stoa, Mark Noble, and Mike Chasteen. B-mains were won by Rick Gustin and Tommy Myer.

Next race for the USMTS modifieds will be Wednesday June 28th at Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, KS and Thursday at Mid-America Motor Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK.

This was also the second race for the stock cars and hobby stocks to run with the USMTS.

Ross McCombs of Oskaloosa, IA started the race from the pole and led all twenty laps to pick up his first win with the USMTS. The stock car action was intense as all racers raced at the bottom of the dry slick track. There was still some moisture down low so drivers were doing all they could to stay right there. All of the racers raced bumper to bumper and Al Johnson was right at McCombs when the checkered flag was thrown. Rounding out the top five were Mark Elliot, Scott Williams and Skeeter Paris. For the win, McCombs picked up the $600 payday.

The hobby stocks took the track and Ryan Griffith redeemed himself from Allison two weeks ago when the car he was driving was black flagged for smoking. Griffith pulled away from the field and had this race under control and led all twelve laps. Doug McCollough was starting to pull in the 10x car of Griffith when trying to pass a lapped car out of turn four and lost control and brought out the yellow flag and had to start at the tail. Jeff Zehr finished second for the second race in a row. Rounding out the top five were Kit Hovey, Shane Monson, and Jerry Dixon. For the win Griffith picked up the $400 paycheck.

The next race for the hobby stocks and stock cars will be July 21st at the Butler County Speedway in Allison, IA.



HEAT 1 - Kit Hovey, Jason Minnehan, Bruce Sommerfeld, Doug McCollough, Mark Haglund.

HEAT 2 - Ryan Griffith, Matt Homer, Shane Monson, Gerald Gatewood, Richie Gustin.

HEAT 3 - Jerry Dixon, Stacey Mills, Bud Beach, Ron Stein, Doug Johnson.

B-MAIN - Jeff Zehr, Mike Henely, James May, Richie Gustin, Doug Johnson.

A-MAIN - Ryan Griffith, Jeff Zehr, Kit Hovey, Shane Monson, Jerry Dixon, Matt Homer, Jason Minnehan, James May, Mike Henely, Stacey Mills, Ron Stein, Doug McCollough, Bud Beach, Bruce Sommerfeld, Aaron Link, Butch Weber, Dean Taylor, Jim Nelson, Doug Johnson, Justin Hoversten, Richie Gustin, Tom Alexander, Mark Haglund.


HEAT 1 - Jason Wagoner, Scott Williams, Reid Keller, Al Johnson, Tom McKenzie.

HEAT 2 - Jake Zehr, Jeff Neilsen, Skeeter Paris, Paul Stein, Bill Crimmins.

HEAT 3 - Chris Ullrich, Ross McCombs, Mark Elliot, Jeff Ellsworth, Todd Foster.

B-MAIN - Todd Foster, Todd Wendel, Kevin Opheim, Bill Crimmins, Doug Filmer.

A-MAIN - Ross McCombs, Al Johnson, Mark Elliot, Scott Williams, Skeeter Paris, Chris Ullrich, Jeff Nielsen, Jason Wagoner, Reid Keller, Doug Filmer, Kevin Opheim, Todd Foster, Dennt Stonburner, Todd Wendel, Jake Zehr, Jim Mitchell, Scott Johnson, Jeff Ellsworth, Ken Tietz, Bill Crimmins, Paul Stein, Rod Olson, Dave Hubbard, Tom McKenzie.


HEAT 1 - Ron Jones, Tim Donlinger, John Krajicek, Tommy Myer, Rick Gustin.

HEAT 2 - Kevin Stoa, John VanDenBerg, Jeremy Mills, Johnny Saathoff, Joe McBirnie.

HEAT 3 - Mark Noble, Brad McEwan, Kelly Shryock, John Anderson, Kevin Peters.

HEAT 4 - Mike Chasteen, Scott Olson, Johnny Bone, Dean Mahlstadt, Duane Van Deest.

B-MAIN 1 - Rick Gustin, John Krajicek, Kevin Peters, Mike Mashl, Scott Drake.

B-MAIN 2 - Tommy Myer, John Anderson, Joe Kosiski, Doug Hillson, Mark Elliot.

A-MAIN - Mark Noble, Johnny Saathoff, Kelly Shryock, Brad McEwan, Ron Jones, Mike Chasteen, Johnny Bone, Tim Donlinger, Jeremy Mills, Kevin Stoa, Tommy Myer, Rick Gustin, Joe Kosiski, John Anderson, John VanDenBerg, Dan Daniels, John Krajicek, Kevin Peters, Doug Hillson, Scott Olson, Mike Collins, Mark Elliot, Mike Mashl, Scott Drake.

Latest Headlines


Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Series main event highlights from the Summit Racing Equipment USMTS Southern Nationals at the Kennedale Speedway Park in Kennedale, Texas, on Saturday, Nov. 3.

20th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree

USMTS road to $50k goes through Humboldt


2018 Featherlite Fall Jamboree Hoodie

2018 Featherlite Fall Jamboree Hoodie

2018 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.