usmts caseys

Amason wins first USMTS event in Van Buren

VAN BUREN, Ark. (March 30, 2001) - Skeet Amason (New Boston, TX) picked up his first ever win at the first USMTS event of the 2001 race season in the south region at Van Buren, AR. Amason started the race from the pole position and led all 40 laps en route to the victory. Amason bested the 43-car field with local drivers Bill Dillard and George Martin rounding out the top three. Amason picked up the $2,000 winners check for the win.

The race was marred with seven cautions and the first was on lap one when the 15 car of Tim Folkerts and Kelly Shryock tangled and both cars were sent to the rear of the field. On the restart Eddie Martin and Tim Adams got together with Adams' car getting upside down and ending his night. That red flag helped 2000 series champion Shryock, who in the first accident broke a tie rod, ended up getting that fixed and making it back out during the red flag. Shryock wound up with a six place finish. The third yellow was for the car of Steve Kosiski. Fourth caution of the night waved on the 16th lap when the Kosiski car got tangled with the Andy Tennison car. The fifth caution waved on the 21st lap for Dan Daniels and Steve Holzkamper. The sixth caution waved on the 29th lap when the Eddie Martin and Harold Wilburn car spun. The final caution fell on lap 32 for debris on the track.

The racing action started with Amason taking the lead with Brian McGowen running second and Martin running third, by lap 8 the ˝ car of Bill Dillard had worked his car up to third place and was looking at the second place Martin which he would take on lap 15. The drivers on the move at the end of the race was Shryock, Steve Kosiski and Tim Folkerts. Folkerts had worked his way past 2000 Rookie Kevin Peters when the last yellow waved and had to go back behind Peters. On the 38th lap Folkerts went high out of turn two and went back to 15th place. Steve Kosiski did get by Kevin Peters on the last lap and finished with a seventh place finish making Peters settle for eighth place. Kelly Shryock also got by Peters on the 38th lap to finish sixth and. Brian McGowen finished fourth and Brian Slader finished fifth. The Harris Auto Racing heat races were won by George Martin, Tim Adams, Mike Delozier, Skeet Amason, and Bill Dillard. The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Tommy Myer and Mike Chasteen. The second night of the two day swing will be Saturday.


Heat 1 - George Martin, Kevin Wilburn, Brian Slader, Dobber Yandell, Mark Massongill

Heat 2 - Tim Adams, Brian Mcowen, Tommy Myer, Gary Vaughan, Ronnie Chism

Heat 3 - Mike Delozier, Kevin Peters, Harold Wilburn, Ryan Disterheft, Dennis Slader

Heat 4 - Skeet Amason, Tim Folkerts, Kelly Shryock, Mike Chasteen, Dan Daniels

Heat 5 - Bill Dillard, Eddie Martin, Greg Skaggs, Steve Kosiski, Andy Tennison

B-main 1 - Tommy Myer, Dan Daniels, Harold Wilburn, Patrick Linn, Steve Kosiski

B-main 2 - Mike Chasteen, Greg Skaggs, Dobber Yandell, Dennis Slader, Steve Holzkamper

A-main - Skeet Amason New Boston, TX, Bill Dillard Fort Smith, AR, George Martin Fort Smith, AR, Brian McGowen Erie, KS, Brian Slader Muskogee, OK, Kelly Shryock Lemars, IA, Steve Kosiski Omaha, NE, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Mike Delozier Carthage, IL, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Patrick Linn Little Rock, AR, Steve Holzkamper Gentry, AR, Andy Tennison Bartlett, TN, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Harold Wilburn Fort Smith, AR, Dennis Slader Muskogee, OK, Mike Collins Omaha, NE, Eddie Martin Stilwell, OK, Greg Skaggs Glen Pool, OK, Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL, Kevin Wilburn Fort Smith, AR, Tim Adams Fort Smith, AR, Dobber Yandell Waldron, AR.

Latest Headlines

USMTS Black Friday Sale begins today!

Are you tossing and turning at night while your brain searches for the answer to ‘What does he want for Christmas?’ Looking for that perfect surprise gift for the race fa…

Gustin an army of one in 2018

Ryan Gustin has won just about every title there is to win with the United States Modified Touring Series, and in 2018 he plans to add another new title to the list: team owner. He&r…

Sanders parks it in 81 Speedway victory lane

Rodney Sanders powered his No. 20 USMTS Modified into the lead on lap 10 and led the final 20 laps to score a $2,000 victory Friday at the 81 Speedway on opening night of the 2nd Annual…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour


USMTS “Outlaw Bandit” Shirt (Olive)

USMTS “Outlaw Bandit” Shirt (Olive)

2017 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant full-color print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.