usmts caseys

Sorensen bags USMTS money in Allison

ALLISON, Iowa (April 7, 2001) - Mike Sorensen Rochester, MN picked up the first night of racing action in the USMTS north region. Sorensen who was second when the checkered flag flew had the lady luck on his side as Jason Hughes came across the scale thirty pounds light. Corey Dripps Cedar Falls, IA jumped out to the early lead in the Simpson Race Products A-main and looked to be in complete control of the race. Dripps had to deal with several cautions as this was the first night of racing at the Butler County Speedway since last July.

The speedway did receive about one inch of rain the night before and the track was on the rough side. This did take the toll as many drivers retired from the race early with mechanical problems.

The racing action was still intense as drivers worked their way through the field. Dripps was having a good race with runner-up Mark Noble when the two drivers went into turns 3-4 and did bump breaking something in the front of the Dripps car and ending his night. Noble did lead the rest of the race until lap 28 of 30 when the panhard bar broke ending his night.

On the restart Jason Hughes was the leader with Mike Sorensen second. Hughes pulled away to take the checkered flag, but when pulled across the scale Hughes was found light. Hughes said with all the cautions we used up more fuel than we ever thought we would which made us be light. The top three cars went across the scale and the third place car of Randy Zimmerman was also found to be forty pounds light.

Both drivers were disqualified moving 2000 series champion Kelly Shryock into second. Dan Daniels who started the race from the tail used a provisional to get into the race wound up with a third place finish. The race was marred with ten caution flags.

The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Rick Gustin and Ron Ver Beek.

The Harris Auto Racing heat races were won by Kelly Shryock, Mark Noble, Corey Dripps, Les Duellman, and Kevin Pittman.

A total of 52 modifieds checked in for the racing action on this very windy night.

Jeff Schuellter New Hampton, IA picked up the win in the USMTS stock car series. Schuellter who took the lead when Mark Elliott motor let go on lap fifteen rounding out the top five was Roger Samec, Brian Edel, Richard Quail and Mike Swarts.


Heat 1 - Kelly Shryock, Mike Spaulding, Mike Sorensen, Jason Krohn, Ron Ver Beek

Heat 2 - Mark Noble, Randy Geisler, Dann Olson, Ricky Kluver, Brad McEwan

Heat 3 - Corey Dripps, Jason Hughes, Tommy Myer, Neil Eckhart, Mike Wedelstadt

Heat 4 - Les Duellman, Randy Zimmerman, Tyler Keyser, Kevin Peters, Tony Wedelstadt

Heat 5 - Kevin Pittman, Tim Folkerts, John VanDenBerg, Kevin Stoa, Shawn Ryan

B-main 1 - Rick Gustin, Kevin Peters, Ron Schreiner, Kevin Stoa, David Siercks

B-main 2 - Ron Ver Beek, Dann Olson, Brad McEwan, Jason Krohn, Tyler Prochaska

A-main - Mike Sorensen Rochester, MN, Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, David Siercks Mound View, MN, Tyler Prochaska Iowa Falls, IA, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Rick Gustin Marshalltown, IA, Ron Schreiner New Richmond, WI, Kevin Pittman Waterloo, IA, Mike Spaulding Bemidji, MN, Ron Ver Beek Oskaloosa, IA, Brad McEwan Storm Lake, IA, John VanDenBerg Oskaloosa, IA, Corey Dripps Cedar Falls, IA, Les Duellman Winona, MN, Kevin Stoa Polk City, IA, Jason Krohn Slayton, MN Dann Olson Braham, MN, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Tyler Keyser Woodville, WI, Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Randy Zimmerman Fort Scott, KS

Latest Headlines

Let Simpson help you gear up for 2019

Purchase Simpson, Stilo and HANS safety products today and pay later. Take advantage of

PEM tabbed Official Quick Change of USMTS

Performance Engineering and Manufacturing, LLC (PEM) has signed on as the Official Quick Change of the USMTS for the 2019 racing season. In addition to padding the points funds for U…


Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Series main event highlights from the Summit Racing Equipment USMTS Southern Nationals at the Kennedale Speedway Park in Kennedale, Texas, on Saturday, Nov. 3.

20th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree

USMTS road to $50k goes through Humboldt


Embroidered Flexfit Hat (Beige/Black)

Embroidered Flexfit Hat (Beige/Black)

2018 USMTS Signature Collection • 55% Polyester/43% Cotton/2% Spandex • Patented, stretchable, polyester mesh on back and sides. • Elastic spandex woven throughout cap. • Curved light-blocking brim curve. • Silver undervisor. Hard buckram. 8 Rows of stitching on visor. Mid profile. • Color: Beige/Black