usmts caseys

Delonjay wins first USMTS Simpson Race Products A-main at Quincy

QUINCY, Ill. (May 4, 2001) - Henry Delonjay Quincy, IL started the race from the front row outside and held off some fierce competitors enroute to his first ever USMTS win. Delonjay pocketed the $2000 paycheck that comes in winning any USMTS race.

Thirty-eight cars checked in for the racing action on this Friday night. The win didn稚 come easy as Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN was all over the back bumper of Delonjay throughout the first twelve laps. By the twelfth lap Mark Noble who started the race eighth had worked his way up to the top two cars.

The cars had raced with no yellow flags and were into lap traffic at this time. Noble slid in low a couple times and all three drivers came out of turn four three wide on lap 23. The first yellow of the night was displayed on lap 28 when the Donlinger car had rear-end trouble and was retired for the night. Noble who at this time looked as if he might be the car to beat had a tire going down as he did get into a lapped car on lap 26. Noble was sent to the pits at this time and returned with only 12 laps remaining and worked all the way back up to 13th.

After the yellow, racing resumed with Jason Hughes and Kelly Shryock in the picture, at this time racing with Delonjay for the lead also racing was Mike Karhoff back in fourth place. Shryock got a flat with two to go, but finished the race in 12th. Karhoff worked his way past Hughes and was reeling in the leader also on the move was track regular Mark Burgtorf. Burgtorf worked his way past Hughes and was also moving towards the front, but ran out of time as Karhoff and Delonjay came to the line two wide with Delonjay getting the win.

This is the first time at a USMTS race that the top three drivers were all from the same hometown. All drivers were from Quincy, IL.

Rounding out the top five were Hughes fourth and Kevin Peters. Winning the Harris Auto Racing Heat races were Dan Daniels, Mike Karhoff, Jason Hughes, Henry Delonjay, and Mark Noble. The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Michael Long and Mark Burgtorf.

After this race Mike Chasteen has a 27-point lead over Kelly Shryock.

Next race for the east region will be June 12th at the Bureau County Speedway in Princeton, IL. Next race for the USMTS will be May 23rd at the Fox Ridge Speedway in Arcadia, WI.

For more information in regards to the USMTS call 515-832-7944.


Heat 1 - Dan Daniels, Kelly Shryock, Sam Burgtorf, Ryan Disterheft, Bruce Hanford

Heat 2 - Mike Karhoff, Tim Donlinger, Dan Helm, Vance Wilson, Paul Lawson

Heat 3 - Jason Hughes, Denny Woodworth, Jim Roach, Ryan Meyer, Mike Chasteen

Heat 4 - Henry Delonjay, Brad McEwan, Terry Wilson, Mike Long, Tom Boble

Heat 5 - Mark Noble, Kevin Peters, Mark Burgtorf, Gary Wilson, Mike Delozier

B-main 1 - Mike Long, Terry Wilson, Mike Chasteen, Mike Delozier, Vance Wilson

B-main 2 - Mark Burgtorf, Bruce Hanford, Tom Goble, Dennis Laviene, Tim Folkerts

A-main - Henry Delonjay Quincy, IL, Mike Karhoff Quincy, IL, Mark Burgtorf Quincy, IL, Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL, Mike Long Canton, IL, Mike Delozier Carthage, IL, Dan Helm Milan, IL, Bruce Hanford Davenport, IA, Brad McEwan Storm Lake, IA, Kelly Shryock Lemars, IA, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Tom Goble Burlington, IA, Brian Allen Bartonville, IL, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Jim Roach Kahoka, MO, Terry Wilson Frankford, MO, Dennis Laviene Burlington, IA, Vance Wilson Bowling Green, MO, Steve Grotz Quincy, IL, Denny Woodworth Mendon, IL, Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN

Latest Headlines

Thornton conquers King of America IX

Ricky Thornton Jr. wrestled the lead away from Kyle Strickler on lap 19 and proceeded to thrive and survive for the final 31 laps to earn a $12,000 payday and claim the crown of di…


It's time! The Humboldt Speedway is hell-bent for hammer-down with the nation's fastest and nastiest Modified and B-Mod racers converging on the Southern Kansas clay this Wed…


New AFCO Racing Website!

AFCO Racing has laumched a new and improved online home. This quick video tutorial will walk you through how to use the new AFCO website. Visit them online at

Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights


USMTS 20th Anniversary Red & Black Hoodie

USMTS 20th Anniversary Red & Black Hoodie

2018 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design Badgerョ hooded pullover with front pocket pouch by Sybesma Graphics featuring superior quality and vibrant full-color screen print on front, back right shoulder and right sleeve. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last. Color: Black with Cherry Red trim.