"> USMTS.com - Hughes first double winner in USMTS action in Kansas
usmts caseys

Hughes first double winner in USMTS action in Kansas

Hughes first two-time winner after USMTS action at Humboldt

Click for the Big Picture
Jason Hughes from Colcord, Okla., got the USMTS win at Humboldt, becoming this season's only repeat feature winner.
HUMBOLDT, Kan. (June 6, 2001) - Jason Hughes Colcord, OK became the first repeat winner in the United States Modified Touring Series Simpson Race Products A-main on this Wednesday night of racing action.

Hughes was scheduled to start the race from the third row inside. At the start of the race front row outside driver Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN driver jumped into the lead when entering turn three Noble hit a slick spot on the track and spun out in front of polesitter Rodney Sigg Iola, KS and second row inside starter Randy Zimmerman Fort Scott, KS starting a train reaction sending all three drivers to the tail.

When the race was restarted Jason Hughes moved all the way to the front row outside next to the Steve Holzkamper Siloam Springs, AR car. The race was marred with six caution flags all, but one before the first twelve laps when the yellow was thrown for debris on the track on lap 27. When the race started Hughes had his car set on cruise control and was looking at driving right around everybody. Hughes worked his way around lapped cars by lap twenty and had distanced himself a straight away ahead of the best battle of the night.

That battle was between John Allen Chanute, KS and Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA. Shryock was working the lowside and Allen the high side and these drivers exchanged spots ten times during the race. By lap 10 the driver that looked as he might have the car to challenge Hughes was Johnny Bone Jr. Pea Ridge, AR who had worked his way up to fifth when something happened to his car and he slid off turn one brining out the fifth yellow on lap 12.

On lap 12 the two drivers that had moved up from the rear were Tommy Myer and Mark Noble. Myer started the race 21st and Noble after the early caution the rear of the field had worked there way up to 7th and 9th. When the racing resumed both drivers held their own and finished with a 7th and 8th place finish.

Two new drivers that have never raced with the USMTS had top six performances and they were Tim Weaver and Clint Bowyer with a 4th and 6th place finish. Tim Folkerts Albia, IA continued his rookie performances with another top five finishing fifth.

The Harris Auto Racing heat races were won by Randy Zimmerman, Rodney Sigg, Mark Noble, John Allen, Dan Daniels, Tim Folkerts. The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Johnny Saathoff and Johnny Bone.

A very good field of cars were on hand for the racing action as 49 cars checked in.

The next race for the USMTS will be tonight Thursday at the North Fork Speedway in Joplin, MO.

For more information about the USMTS call the USMTS office at 515-832-7944.


Heat 1 - Randy Zimmerman, Tim Weaver, Jason Hughes, Dena Wilson, Craig Chaffin

Heat 2 - Rodney Sigg, Kelly Shryock, Kevin Larkins, Dean McGee, Tom Folk

Heat 3 - Mark Noble, Brad McEwan, Johnny Bone, Steve Kosiski, Steve Becker

Heat 4 - John Allen, Terry Kirk, Gary Clark, David Grigg, Mark Hughes

Heat 5 - Dan Daniels, Steve Holzkamper, Clint Bowyer, Justin Folk, Scott Daniels

Heat 6 - Tim Folkerts, Johnny Saathoff, Brook Phillips, Jess Folk Jr., Brian McGowen

B-main 1 - Johnny Saathoff, Brad McEwan, Gary Clark, Brian McGowen, Tommy Myer

B-main 2 - Johnny Bone, Justin Folk, Terry Kirk, Brook Phillips, Greg Skaggs

A-main - Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA, John Allen Chanute, KS, Tim Weaver Westville, OK, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Clint Bowyer Emporia, KS, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Johnny Saathoff Beatrice, NE, Adam Larson Ames, IA, Rodney Sigg Iola, KS, Steve Holzkamper Siloam Springs, AR, Justin Folk Iola, KS, Johnny Bone Pea Ridge, AR, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Brian McGowen Erie, KS, Brad McEwan Storm Lake, IA, Brook Phillips Whitta, KS, Terry Kirk Springfield, MO, Kevin Larkins Greenwood, NE, Randy Zimmerman Fort Scott, KS, George Martin Fort Smith, AR, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Gary Clark Walker, MO.

Latest Headlines


It's time! The Humboldt Speedway is hell-bent for hammer-down with the nation's fastest and nastiest Modified and B-Mod racers converging on the Southern Kansas clay this Wed…


New AFCO Racing Website!

AFCO Racing has laumched a new and improved online home. This quick video tutorial will walk you through how to use the new AFCO website. Visit them online at afcoracing.com.

Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights