usmts caseys

Chasteen's second USMTS East Region win comes at Lafayette County

DARLINGTON, Wis. (June 13, 2001) - Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL picked up his second win of the season at the Lafayette County Speedway in Darlington, WI on Wednesday night. The modified race started when the pole sitter Rick Hixson (Orion, IL) went into turns 1-2 with the lead when drivers Jason Hughes Colcord, OK and Tim Folkerts Albia, IA tangled together sending both drivers to the rear.

When the race restarted Hixson jumped into the lead before Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN took the top spot from Hixson. Donlinger looked as if he would pick up his second win of the season, but troubles halfway through the race as his #21 car started to tighten up. Donlinger did all he could to hold onto a fourth place finish.

The man on the move was Ron Schreiner New Richmond, WI who started the race from the sixth row. Schreiner worked his way past all USMTS regulars and was reeling in Chasteen when he took his #97 Pro Chassis into turns 1-2 a little fast and did a very good job of not spinning out and holding his second place.

At the finish Chasteen won by five car lengths. Rounding out the top five was Bruce Hanford Davenport, IA and Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA. With the win Chasteen will still have the point lead over Bruce Hanford.

The Harris Auto Racing Heat Races were won by Hixson, Chasteen, Hughes, Donlinger, and Shryock. The Midwest Motorsports B-main winners Russ Olson and Mark Noble.

The next race for the USMTS east region is scheduled for July 12 at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, IL. The race at Freeport did get rained out and will be rescheduled. We are currently working out details with the track on the rain date for that race. The next race for the USMTS will be a three-day swing in Iowa and Minnesota. On Tuesday the USMTS will race at the Butler County Speedway in Allison, IA. On Wednesday the series will move to the Fairmont Raceway in Fairmont, MN and the Dodge County Speedway in Kasson, MN on Thursday.

For more information on the USMTS call 515-832-7944.


Heat 1 - Rick Hixson, Tommy Myer, Russ Olson, Jeff Larson, Marty Thompson

Heat 2 - Mike Chasteen, Kevin Peters, Mike Garland, Dan Helm, Tim Maurer

Heat 3 - Jason Hughes, Tim Lemirande, Steve Wetter, Steve Mueller, Ralph Schneider

Heat 4 - Tim Donlinger, Tim Folkerts, Bruce Hanford, Scott Holbert, Scott Schanke

Heat 5 - Kelly Shryock, Ron Schreiner, Mark Noble, Mike Sandholm, Todd Ihde

B-main 1 - Russ Olson, Dan Helm, Steve Wetter, Marty Thompson, Jeff Larson

B-main 2 - Mark Noble, Scott Holbert, Steve Mueller, Mike Sandholm, Todd Ihde

A-main - Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL, Ron Schreiner New Richmond, WI, Bruce Hanford Davenport, IA, Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN, Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Mike Garland Morrison, IL, Russ Olson Cedar Rapids, IA, Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Dan Helm Milan, IL, Tim Lemirande Verona, WI, Mike Sandholm Kenosha, WI, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Rick Hixson Orion, IL, Ryan Disterheft Eau Claire, MI, Steve Mueller Mukwonago, WI, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Marty Thompson Mineral, IL, Steve Wetter Platteville, WI, Scott Holbert Morrison, IL, Charles Baker LaBelle, MO.

Latest Headlines

Prepare for the 2018 race season now

While just owning all the right pieces of equipment is often good enough for the tech department, the question becomes, is that good enough for you? After all, if you get injured on the…

CP-Carrillo acquires Arias Pistons brand

CP-Carrillo, Inc. and Arias Industries recently announced that CP-Carrillo will acquire the Arias Pistons brand name and trademark, and relocate their piston production to CP-Carrillo&r…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour