usmts caseys

Shryock picks up second USMTS win with last-lap pass at Fairmont

FAIRMONT, Minn. (June 20, 2001) - Kelly Shryock who started the race from the seventh row picked up his second Simpson Race Products A-main win of the season at the Fairmont Raceway in Fairmont, MN on this Wednesday night. Shryock who started racing at this track worked through traffic all night and had good battles going with Mike Chasteen and Tim Donlinger.

Donlinger would jump out into the early lead from the pole position. That lead was short lived as Mike Chasteen took the top spot away from Donlinger on lap five. Chasteen started to pull away from the field and looked as if he would cruise onto his third victory. A late yellow on lap 20 would bring all the racers back together for a ten lap battle. By lap 10 Shryock had worked his way past Donlinger and was hoping for a yellow to have a chance to race Chasteen. Well that late yellow worked, but when they went by the flagstand Donlinger had gotten back by the #3 car to move him back to second and Shryock to third.

On lap 21 Jason Hughes had worked his way past the Shryock and Donlinger car into the second spot. On lap 23 the Donlinger car went into turns 1-2 a little to hard and lost control. The Donlinger car kept rolling and went into the infield finishing the night with a thirteenth position.

The last yellow of the night came out when the 19 car of Mike Sorensen went into turn one and the 65 car of Tommy Myer got together. Sorensen went to the infield with a front flat tire ending his night with a eleventh place finish.

Tommy Myer, Mark Noble, and Dan Daniels all used series provisionals to get into the race. Myer finished fourth, Noble fifth, and Daniels seventh.

After the last yellow on lap 25 the last five laps were run caution free. With Chasteen, Shryock, Hughes, Noble and Myer running in that order. Myer got by Noble with two to go and Chasteen went into turn 1-2 to hard on the white flag lap and Shryock stuck his car to the bottom of turns 1-2 and came out with the lead.

For the win Shryock picked up the $2,000 paycheck and inherited the north region point lead.

The next race for the North Region will be Thursday, June 21, at the Dodge County Speedway in Kasson, Minn. Next week the series will move back to the Fox Ridge Speedway in Arcadia, WI and Chateau Raceway in Lansing, MN for the rescheduled races from May.

The Harris Auto Racing Heat Races were won by Rick Gustin, Mike Sorensen, Brad McEwan, Todd Klees, and Mike Chasteen. The Midwest Motorsports B-main winners were Kelly Shryock and Pat Graham. For more information call the USMTS office at 515-832-7944. Mark Elliott picked up his second win of the season in the USMTS stock car class with Bob Sutherland and Todd Foster second and third.



Heat 1 - Rick Gustin, Jesse Drost, Scott Drake, Steve Wetzstein, John Klynisma

Heat 2 - Mike Sorensen, Tim Donlinger, Kelly Shryock, Jeremy Mills, Dan Daniels

Heat 3 - Brad McEwan, Greg Porth, Willy Kraft, Ron Schreiner, James Richert

Heat 4 - Todd Klees, Adam Larson, Pat Graham, Tim Folkerts, Jerry Goebel

Heat 5 - Mike Chasteen, Jason Hughes, Doug Peterson, Johnny Bone, Tom Finke

B-main 1 - Kelly Shryock, Johnny Bone, Willy Kraft, James Richert, Todd Stueber

B-main 2 - Pat Graham, Ron Schreiner, Jon Tesch, Tim Folkerts, Doug Peterson

A-main - Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA, Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL, Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Willy Kraft Lakefield, MN, Jon Tesch Watertown, SD, Pat Graham LeMars, Mike Sorensen Rochester, MN, Todd Klees Rochester, MN, Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN, Rick Gustin Marshalltown, IA, Greg Porth Heron Lake, MN, Ron Schreiner New Richmond, WI, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Scott Drake Webb City, MO, Johnny Bone Pea Ridge, AR, Todd Stueber Fairmont, MN, Brad McEwan Storm Lake, IA, Adam Larson Ames, IA, James Richert Comfrey, MN, Jesse Drost Worthington, MN


A-main - Mark Elliott, Bob Sutherland, Todd Foster, Jeff Schluetter, Wad Eastman, Shawn Kluever, Jeff Nielsen, Al Thoms, Loren Shriver, Rick Mees, Roger Samec, Troy Schmidtke, Duane Schmidt, Jason Breitbarth, Kent Christians, Malcom Teachout, Ken Tietz, Roger Verdoom, Jeff Ignaszewski, Jake Grathwohl, Tim Grathwohl

Latest Headlines

Let Simpson help you gear up for 2019

Purchase Simpson, Stilo and HANS safety products today and pay later. Take advantage of

PEM tabbed Official Quick Change of USMTS

Performance Engineering and Manufacturing, LLC (PEM) has signed on as the Official Quick Change of the USMTS for the 2019 racing season. In addition to padding the points funds for U…


Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Series main event highlights from the Summit Racing Equipment USMTS Southern Nationals at the Kennedale Speedway Park in Kennedale, Texas, on Saturday, Nov. 3.

20th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree

USMTS road to $50k goes through Humboldt


USMTS “Mayhem” Shirt

USMTS “Mayhem” Shirt

2018 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design 100% cotton short-sleeve shirt by Arizona Sport Shirts featuring superior quality and vibrant full-color screen print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last. Color: Royal.