usmts caseys

Allen Tops Friday Night USMTS Qualifying at Winston Speedway in Winston, MO

WINSTON, Mo. (March 29, 2002) - The United States Modified Touring Series kicked the season off at the Winston Speedway in Winston, MO on Friday night for a two-day $3000 to win show. After morning rain filled the skies in northern Missouri the weather turned out to be great.

Sixty degree temperatures and blues skies by mid morning, which dried up the infield so the racing could get started. Fifty-three modifieds pulled into the pit area for qualifying on Friday night.

John Allen from Chanute, KS started the season off on the right foot leading all twenty laps and picking up the $500 qualifying feature paycheck. Allen started the main from the second row outside and took the lead from pole sitter Joe Walker Gallatin, MO coming out of turn four on lap one. Allen held off charges from 3-time USMTS national champion Kelly Shryock Lemars, IA for the win. Rick Gustin Marshalltown, IA started from the front row outside and ran second until lap five when the #3 Pierce Modified passed Gustin out of turn four. Gustin would finish with a strong third place finish.

Rounding out the top eight on Friday would be Dan Daniels, Steve Holzkamper, Dan Chapman, Klint Pursley, and Tim Karrick. All of these drivers were locked into Saturdays A-main. The following drivers won heat races: Shryock, Gustin, Todd Klees, Leroy Brenner, Pursley. Picking up B-main wins were Marc Robe and Ron Schreiner.


Isky Heat Race 1- Kelly Shryock, Tim Karrick, John Allen, John VanDenBerg, Jeremy Chambers

Harris Auto Racing Heat Race 2- Rick Gustin, Jon Tesch, Marc Robe, Mike Chasteen, Steve Burch

Kevko Heat Race 3- Todd Klees, Dan Daniels, Steve Holzkamper, Mark Dotson, Chad Huston

Wilwood Heat 4- Leroy Brenner, Joe Walker, Dan Chapman, William Robinson, Luke Cochran

Star Track Race Car Bodies Heat Race 5- Klint Pursley, Ron Schreiner, Chad Lyle, Dean Wray, Brian Collins

Holley Performance B-main 1- Marc Robe, Dan Chapman, Dan Daniels, Jeremy Chambers, Tommy Myer

Holley Performance B-main 2- Ron Schreiner, Brad Whitney, John VandenBerg, Allen Henery, Randy Zimmerman

Hoosier Tire A-main- John Allen Chanute, KS, Kelly Shryock Lemars, IA, Rick Gustin Marshalltown, IA, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Steve Holzkamper Gentry, AR, Dan Chapman Clarence, IA, Klint Pursley Locust Grove, OK, Tim Karrick Bashor, KS, Brad Whitney Trenton, MO, Randy Zimmerman Fort Scott, KS, Marc Robe Wichita, KS, Ron Schreiner Hudson, WI, Jon Tesch Watertown, SD, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Chad Lyle Long Jack, MO, Joe Walker Grand View, MO, Leroy Brenner Aledo, IL, John VanDenBerg Oskaloosa, IA, Mike Chasteen Creve Coeur, IL, Todd Klees Rochester, MN

Latest Headlines


9th Annual Summit USMTS Winter Speedweeks begins Feb. 23-25 in South Texas

Hit the reset button on your New Year's resolutions! Get off your ass and come stand on the gas with the awesome power of the biggest baddest fastest modifieds in the world! The Summit USMTS Southern Series invades Southern Texas for three big nights of racing February 23-25 and its going to be huge! Big bucks and bragging rights with a complete program of intense qualifying and nail-biting main e

MSD 6 EFI Ignition Control

USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17