usmts caseys

Shryock Starts Off USMTS Season With $3000 win at Winston Speedway in Winston, MO

WINSTON, Mo. (March 30, 2002) - After finishing second to John Allen Chanute, KS on Friday night the roles were reversed when the money was on line at Winston Speedway on Saturday night. Allen after winning the qualifying feature on Friday night started the race from the pole position with Kelly Shryock beside him at the start of the race.

Six caution flags flew during the main event everytime the two leaders were getting close to lapped traffic.

At each restart Allen would take off with Shryock right on his bumper. On lap twenty Allen and Shryock would battle side by side for the next fifteen laps. On lap 28 Shryock finally came by the line with the lead, but it was short lived as Allen would lead laps 29-30.

Shryock would take the point for the last time and cruise on to victory at lap 31.

A very hard charging Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN who started the race from the sixth row would start putting pressure on Allen with three to go, but could never get by and had to settle with a third place finish. Another hard charger was John VanDenBerg who started the race from the 25th starting position to finish ninth. Rick Gustin would have his best finish with the USMTS with a fourth place finish while Dan Chapman rounded out the top five.

On Saturday night forty-nine cars checked in for the racing action and fans were treated to some great racing. A good crowd witnessed the racing action and braved the colder temperatures on Saturday night. Winning heat races on Saturday was Tommy Myer, Chad Lyle, Marc Robe, Ron Schreiner, Jon Tesch.

Picking up B-main wins were Ron Schreiner and Curt Rackers. Next race for the USMTS will be Friday and Saturday April 5-6 at the Thunder Valley Speedway in Fayetteville, AR. This race will pay $3000 to win on Saturday night.

After the first race John Allen leads the points in the south region over Kelly Shryock by one point.

For more information call the USMTS office at 515-832-7944.


Isky Heat Race 1- Tommy Myer, Dean Wray, Brad Whitney, Al Tordoff, Steve Dison

Harris Heat Race 2- Chad Lyle, Corey Dripps, Randy Zimmerman, Doug Hillson, Todd Klees,

Kevko Heat Race 3- Marc Robe, Brian Collins, Joe Walker, Jeremy Chambers, Mike Ryun

Star Track Heat Race 4- Ron Schreiner, Leroy Brenner, Allen Henery, Lonnie Hibner, Bill Yeast

Wilwood Heat 5- Jon Tesch, Ron VerBeek, John VanDenBerg, Ryan Ruter, Craig Reetz

Holley B-main 1- Ron Schreiner, Ryan Ruter, Todd Klees, Jeremy Chambers, Allen Henery

Holley B-main 2- Curt Rackers, Mark Dotson, Joe Walker, Doug Hillson, John VanDenBerg

Hoosier A-main- Kelly Shryock Lemars, IA, John Allen Chanute, KS, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Rick Gustin Marshalltown, IA, Dan Chapman Clarence, IA, Chad Lyle Long Jack, MO, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Marc Robe Wichita, KS, John VanDenBerg Oskaloosa, IA, Ron Schreiner Hudson, WI, Dean Wray Trenton, MO, Mark Dotson Cameron, MO, Brain Collins Elsberry, MO, Ryan Ruter Kanawha, IA, Joe Walker Grand View, MO, Randy Zimmerman Fort Scott, KS, Tim Karrick Bashor, KS, Steve Holzkamper Gentry, AR, Ron Ver Beek Oskaloosa, IA, Jack Stotts Trenton, MO, Lonnie Hibner Chillicothe, MO, Todd Klees Rochester, MN, Corey Dripps Cedar Falls, IA, Mike Chasteen Creve Coeur, IL. Curt Rackers Holts Summit, MO, Klint Pursley Locust Grove, OK.

Latest Headlines

USMTS unveils 20th anniversary 2018 schedule

Officials from the United States Modified Touring Series unveiled next year’s schedule of events today, highlighted by a record top prize of $50,000 awaiting the 2018 USMTS Nation…

USMTS Black Friday Sale begins today!

Are you tossing and turning at night while your brain searches for the answer to ‘What does he want for Christmas?’ Looking for that perfect surprise gift for the race fa…

Gustin an army of one in 2018

Ryan Gustin has won just about every title there is to win with the United States Modified Touring Series, and in 2018 he plans to add another new title to the list: team owner. He&r…

Sanders parks it in 81 Speedway victory lane

Rodney Sanders powered his No. 20 USMTS Modified into the lead on lap 10 and led the final 20 laps to score a $2,000 victory Friday at the 81 Speedway on opening night of the 2nd Annual…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour



USMTS "Shock Wave" Fitted OGIO Hat (Blue)

2017 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom OGIO design, superior quality and vibrant embroidered design print on soft stretchable cotton. Available in S/M or L/XL. Limited quantities while supplies last.