usmts caseys

Shryock shines in USMTS action at Powercom

BEAVER DAM, Wis. (June 29, 2002) - Kelly Shryock of LeMars, IA raced to the win in the 50-lap United States Modified Touring Series Prestige Cabinets 50 at the Raceway at Powercom Park in Beaver Dam on Saturday night. Shryock, the U.S.M.T.S. national point leader, fought it out with Tim Donlinger of Rochester, MN throughout most of the first half of the race before wrestling the lead away from Donlinger on lap twenty-seven. Donlinger retired from the event several laps later and wound up nineteenth. Mike Mashl of DePere charged up through the field from his eighth row starting position to finish in second. Tommy Meyer ran strong throughout the event to cross the line in third. Scott Kuxhouse of Antioch, IL also had a good run moving up from the fifth row to take fourth. Brian Mullen of Seymour, who ran as high as second, drove to a fifth place finish. Travis Spaulding of Greenville followed in sixth. Current Raceway at Powercom Park point leader, Dan Miller of Clyman, finished in seventh. Taking eighth through tenth were Steve Mueller of Mukwonago, Joe Houpt of Mequon and Steve Kloehn of Waukau.

For the second night in a row, it was Falcon Smith of Oak Hill, OH who drove to victory in the 20-lap Legends A-Main. Smith took over the lead on lap nine after battling it out with Eric Barth of Sauk City. Ron Smith of Speedway, IN was in the thick of the battle and came home in the second spot. Craig Boettcher of Reeseville ran up near the front most of the way to finish in third. Darwin Banes of Beaver Dam moved up from the eighth starting position to take fourth. Kevin Brill of Oostburg also moved up well to finish in fifth after starting in twelfth. The sixth through tenth positions went to Warren Ropp of Kalona, Ia, Ric Mattie of Franksville, Spider Akright of Sheboygan Falls, Ken Schimmel of Reeseville and George Giesen of Neenah.

F.W. Formiller of Oshkosh took over the lead on lap five and cruised to the win in the 20-lap Stock A-Main. Early race leader, Craig Lepple of Beaver Dam, drove to second. Jamie Lastovich of Hartford crossed the line in third ahead of Jerry Winkler of Oshkosh. Paul DeLap of Oshkosh followed in fifth. Dale Averkamp of Oshkosh was sixth. Brent Lepple of Beaver Dam took seventh.

In preliminary race action, Mike Mashl and Jason Zdroik of Big Bend recorded B-Main wins in the Modifieds. Heat race wins were claimed by Tim Lemirande of Verona, Jim Zdroik of Big Bend and Scott Kuxhouse. Greg Hartlaub of Sheboygan Falls and Darwin Banes registered Legends heat race wins.

The next event on the Raceway at Powercom Park schedule is the Pennzoil World of Outlaws on Wednesday July 10. The next Saturday night program will take place on July 20 with the Midwest Sprint Association, Modifieds, Legends and Karavan Trailers Dirt Devils in action.

Latest Headlines

Let Simpson help you gear up for 2019

Purchase Simpson, Stilo and HANS safety products today and pay later. Take advantage of

PEM tabbed Official Quick Change of USMTS

Performance Engineering and Manufacturing, LLC (PEM) has signed on as the Official Quick Change of the USMTS for the 2019 racing season. In addition to padding the points funds for U…


Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Series main event highlights from the Summit Racing Equipment USMTS Southern Nationals at the Kennedale Speedway Park in Kennedale, Texas, on Saturday, Nov. 3.

20th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree

USMTS road to $50k goes through Humboldt