usmts caseys

Jones pockets the 2,000 USMTS dollars at Freeport Raceway Park

FREEPORT, IL (June 3, 1999) - Ron Jones (Zimmerman, MN) started the race from the front row outside enroute to his first USMTS win of the 1999 season. Kenny Kostenbader (Freeport, IL) started the race from the AFCO pole but when the green flag was thrown coming out of turn four, Jones got the early jump and was uncontested for the 30-lap main event.

The race was marred with only one caution which was thrown on lap 27 when the no. 31 car of Corey Dripps (Cedar Falls, IA) lost a motor, expiring him from the racing action. Before the caution was thrown, the no. 3 car of Kelly Shryock (Story City, IA) seemed to be the fastest car on the speedway as he was reeling in the no. 7 car of Jones. When the green flag was thrown after the caution, Jones pulled away and won the race by six-car-lengths over Shryock.

With the win, Jones jumped back into the top five in the year-end point standings.

Rounding out the top three were Shryock, second, and Ron Barker (Dubuque, IA), third.

Thirty-nine cars were on hand for the racing action and a good crowd witnessed the racing action on this big 1/2-mile speedway. Mark Noble (Blooming Prairie, MN) was the Olympic Fire Protection Hard Charger for this race as he started the race from the sixth row outside and ended up finishing fifth. With Noble’s fifth place finish, he still has a slim 10-point lead in the year-end point standings.

Heat race winners were Kostenbader, Shryock, Dripps and Mike Garland (Morrison, IL). B-Main winners were Bob Dominacki (Bettendorf, IA) and Bruce Hanford (Davenport, IA).


Heat 1: Kenny Kostenbader, Kevin Pittman, John Anderson, Bob Dominacki, Mark Dotson

Heat 2: Kelly Shryock, Luke Cochran, Darin Thye, Chuck Turner, Carl Beattie

Heat 3: Corey Dripps, Tim Donlinger, Ron Barker, Brad Dubil, Doug Hillson

Heat 4: Mike Garland, Ron Jones, Mark Noble, Bruce Hanford, Rich Smith

B-Main 1: Bob Dominacki, Brad Dubil, Mark Dotson, Kevin Cale, Rich Smith

B-Main 2: Bruce Hanford, Randall Mahring, Todd Ihde, Mark Verbeck, Chusk Turner

A-Main (30 laps): 1) Ron Jones (Zimmerman, MN), 2) Kelly Shryock (Story City, IA), 3) Ron Barker (Dubuque, IA), 4) John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 5) Mark Noble (Blooming Prairie, MN), 6) Tim Donlinger (Rochester, MN), 7) Kevin Pittman (Waterloo, IA), 8) Bruce Hanford (Davenport, IA), 9) Kenny Kostenbader (Freeport, IL), 10) Darin Thye (Burlington, IA), 11) Bob Dominacki (Bettendorf, IA), 12) Luke Cochran (Sprinfield, NE), 13) Kevin Cale (Donnellson, IA), 14) Rich Smith (Davenport, IA), 15) Todd Ihde (Decorah, IA), 16) Randall Mahring (Peoria, IL), 17) Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 18) Marty Thompson (Mineral, IL), 19) Doug Hillson (Blooming Prairie, MN) 20) Carl Beattie (Ohio, IL), 21) Corey Dripps (Cedar Falls, IA), 22) Mark Verbeck (Annawan, IL), 23) Brad Dubil (Bettendorf, IA), 24) Mike Garland (Morrison, IL), 25) Terry Pfeiffer (Freeport, IL), 26) Chuck Turner (Sterling, IL).

Latest Headlines

Prepare for the 2018 race season now

While just owning all the right pieces of equipment is often good enough for the tech department, the question becomes, is that good enough for you? After all, if you get injured on the…

CP-Carrillo acquires Arias Pistons brand

CP-Carrillo, Inc. and Arias Industries recently announced that CP-Carrillo will acquire the Arias Pistons brand name and trademark, and relocate their piston production to CP-Carrillo&r…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour


2017 Grant Junghans Memorial Shirt

2017 Grant Junghans Memorial Shirt

2017 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.