usmts caseys

Connoyer wins first ever USMTS race at 67 Raceway Park

By Todd Staley

GODFREY, IL (June 25, 1999) - Jason Connoyer (Moro, IL) picked up his first ever USMTS race in as many tries on this hot Friday night. In a race that looked like it was going to be won by Mark Gansmann (Medora, IL) driving the Harris Chassis powered by Mopar modified.

Gansmann jumped out to the early lead from his second row starting spot and had the race well in his own control picking off lap cars by lap twelve on this 1/4-mile speedway.

The first yellow came out on lap 17 when a two-car spin stopped the race. The next yellow came out five laps later when Gansmann leading the race blew up the Mopar giving the lead to Connoyer. A yellow flag was thrown again on lap 37 for the 21x machine of John Anderson (Omaha, NE) when his rear end let go.

At the restart Kelly Shryock (Story City, IA) had worked his way up from the seventh row starting spot into the second spot, but had nothing for Connoyer as he won the race by five car lengths over Shryock. Dean Hoffman (Belleville, IL) had a very impressive run starting from the fourth row inside and finishing third.

The Hard Charger for the race was Ron Jones who had to use a series provisional to get into the race as bad luck struck him in the B-main started the race from the 12th row and finished sixth.

Rounding out the top five were Jeff LeBaube (High Ridge, IL) fourth and Daryl Herbert (Indianapolis, IN) fifth. With Shryock second place finish he maintains the point lead as Ron Jones moves into the second place for the year-end standings.

For the win Connoyer picked up the $2000 paycheck as forty-one cars checked into the pit area.

A very good crowd was on hand to witness some very good hard racing by all competitors.

Heat race winners were Connoyer, Jim Shereck (St. Charles, MO), Ray Walsh (St. Louis, MO), Mark Gansmann (Medora, IL), and Hoffman. B-Main winners were Shryock and Anderson.



Heat 1- Jason Connoyer, Kelly Shryock, Jerry Grither, Danny Haynes, Jeff Lebaube

Heat 2- Jim Shereck, Scott Patman, Daryl Herbert, Kevin Pittman, Mark Dotson

Heat 3- Ray Walsh, Scott Weber, John Anderson, Eddie Martin, Jim Werner

Heat 4- Mark Gansmann, Tim Hancock, Marty Thompson, Marty Kopp, Luke Cochran

Heat 5- Dean Hoffman, Bobby Regot, George Carroll, Don Patton, John Hobson

B-Main 1- Shryock, LeBaube, Hobson, Grither, Plumer

B-Main 2- Anderson, Werner, Seets, Thye, Cale

A-Main (40 Laps)- 1) Jason Connoyer, 2) Kelly Shryock, 3) Dean Hoffman, 4) Jeff LeBaube, 5) Daryl Herbert, 6) Ron Jones, 7) John Seets, 8) Jim Werner Jr., 9) John Hobson, 10) Scott Patman, 11) Bobby Regot, 12) Mark Dotson, 13) Marty Thompson 14) John Anderson, 15) Tim Hancock, 16) Darin Thye, 17) Ray Walsh, 18) Mark Gansmann, 19) Jason Plumer, 20) Kevin Cale, 21) Scott Weber, 22) Jerry Grither, 23) George Carroll 24) Jim Shereck.

Latest Headlines


Holley 4500 Dominator Drop Base Air Cleaners

Mr. Gasket 900 CFM Air Mover Fan


USMTS “American Pride 4 Wide” Shirt

USMTS “American Pride 4 Wide” Shirt

2018 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design 100% cotton short-sleeve shirt by ASi Racewear featuring superior quality and vibrant full-color screen print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last. Color: Light Navy. Also available in Adult 4X-Large and 5X-Large. Call (515) 832-7944 to order.