usmts caseys

Jones picks up third win in USMTS season at Crawford County Speedway

By Todd Staley

DENISON, IA (July 21, 1999) - Ron Jones Zimmerman, Minn., picked up his third win of the season at the Crawford County Speedway in Denison, Iowa, on this hot night in July. Jones started the race from the front row outside and had to hold back many attempts from different contenders throughout the race.

John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., started the race from the AFCO pole, but an early flat tire took out his chances for the win on this night.

The man on the move was Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie, Minn., who had to use a provisional to get in the race as he had mechanical trouble in both the heat race and the B-main. Noble started the race from the 23rd starting position and was up to sixth place after the first eight laps of the race. Noble, running a Ford motor, looked as if he was going to be the man to beat, but ended up having more problems with the rear of the car to retire him for the night.

The racing action was still hot at the front as Steve Kosiski of Omaha, Neb., and Tim Donlinger of Rochester, Minn., were all in pursuit of the front running Jones. Both made many attempts for the pass, but neither could muster up enough to get around him. Donlinger had the misfortune bug strike him on the 27th lap as he had rear end problems strike, taking out his chances for the win.

Forty-four cars checked into the pit area for the racing action.

A good crowd was on hand for Ken Schrader Night at the speedway. Schrader finished the race in the third spot.

For the win, Jones received the $2,000 paycheck.

Kelly Shryock Story City, Iowa, maintains the point lead with his sixth place finish.

Heat race winners were Schrader, Jones, Darin Thye, Jeremy Mills and Kosiski.

B-main winners were Shryock and Corey Dripps.

The next USMTS race will be Thursday, July 22, at the Algona Raceway in Algona, Iowa. Next Tuesday kicks off three races in a row starting at West Union, Iowa. On Wednesday the series will be at Britt, Iowa, and Thursday will be at Jackson, Minn.

For more information call 515-832-6321.



Heat 1- Ken Schrader, John Anderson, John Krajicek, Kelly Shryock, Lonn Schuellter

Heat 2- Ron Jones, Tim Donlinger, Marty Thompson, Dann Olson, Mark Dotson

Heat 3- Darin Thye, Bruce Hanford, Jon Schwartz, Rick Gustin, Wally Wagner

Heat 4- Jeremy Mills, Aaron Larson, Gary March, Dan Mueller, Damian Smith

Heat 5- Steve Kosiski, Jerry Warner, Tommy Myer, Don Doeblin, Jeff Stephens

B-main 1-Corey Dripps, Mark Dotson, Jon Schwartz, Brandon Monson, Jeff Stephens

B-main 2- Kelly Shryock, Tommy Myer, Wally Wagner, Craig Reetz, Dann Olson

A-main- 1) Ron Jones, Zimmerman, MN, 2) Steve Kosiski, Omaha, NE, 3) Ken Schrader, Fenton, MO, 4) Bruce Hanford, Davenport, IA, 5) John Krajicek, Denison, IA, 6) Kelly Shryock, Story City, IA, 7) Jerry Warner, LaVista, NE, 8) Rick Gustin, Marshalltown, IA, 9) John Anderson, Omaha, NE, 10) Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie, MN, 11) Jeff Stephens, Arion, IA, 12) Tim Folkerts, Albia, IA, 13) Jeremy Mills, Laurens, IA, 14) Tim Donlinger, Rochester, MN, 15) Wally Wagner, Sioux City, IA, 16) Corey Dripps, Cedar Falls, IA, 17) Mark Dotson, Cameron, MO, 18) Craig Reetz, Dunlap, IA, 19) Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, MN, 20) Dann Olson, Braham, MN, 21) Marty Thompson, Mineral, IL, 22) Jon Schwartz, Omaha, NE, 23) Darin Thye, Burlington, IA, 24) Brandon Monson, Harlan, IA, 25) Aaron Larson, Hubbard, IA, 26) Max Dunlap, Zearing, IA.

Latest Headlines

USMTS Black Friday Sale begins today!

Are you tossing and turning at night while your brain searches for the answer to ‘What does he want for Christmas?’ Looking for that perfect surprise gift for the race fa…

Gustin an army of one in 2018

Ryan Gustin has won just about every title there is to win with the United States Modified Touring Series, and in 2018 he plans to add another new title to the list: team owner. He&r…

Sanders parks it in 81 Speedway victory lane

Rodney Sanders powered his No. 20 USMTS Modified into the lead on lap 10 and led the final 20 laps to score a $2,000 victory Friday at the 81 Speedway on opening night of the 2nd Annual…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour