usmts caseys

Hughes redeems, wins USMTS event in Webster City

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (April 8, 2001) - Jason Hughes Colcord, OK picked up the Simpson Race Products A-main win in the second race for the north region on this beautiful spring Sunday afternoon. Hughes who won the race on Friday went across the scale light and was disqualified on Saturday did redeem and win again on Sunday and did it in grand style.

Hughes did not lead the race until the last lap on the last corner when Tim Folkerts Albia, IA went low for a lapped car and Hughes went to the outside and went on by the 15 car of Folkerts for the win. Folkerts who started the race from the front row inside ran second until the fifth lap when he worked his way around Adam Larson Ames, IA. Folkerts led the rest of the race until the checkered flag was thrown.

Larson who had his best ever USMTS feature finish wound up third. One caution flag was thrown in the A-main when the Ricky Kluver car had to be towed off the track on lap 15. For the win Hughes picked up the $2000 paycheck that is standard for all USMTS races.

Hughes bested a field of 55 modifieds en route to the win.

The track which did get dry as the racing started at 5pm with the sun bearing down was still a very racy track as the drivers that started back in the race did plenty of moving up. Rick Gustin started the race from ninth and finished fourth, Randy Zimmerman started fourteenth and finished sixth.

The Olympic Fire Protection Hard Charger of the race was John Logue who started 16th and finished seventh. Picking up wins in the Harris Auto Racing heat races were Adam Larson, Willy Kraft, Jay Ihrke, Ricky Kluver, and Jason Hughes. The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Mark Elliott and Randy Zimmerman.

After this race Tim Folkerts leads the North Region points by 3 points over Mike Sorensen. Next race for the USMTS will be this weekend as the series will move back to the south region for the third and fourth races. Friday the series will make its first visit of the year at the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, KS.

On Saturday the series will race in Bethany, MO for the first race ever at the speedway for the USMTS. Mark Elliott picked up the win in the USMTS stock car class with Al Johnson and Jim Mitchell rounding out the top three.


Heat 1 - Adam Larson, Jason Toppenberg, Brad McEwan, Jason Cummins, Todd Stinehart

Heat 2 - Willy Kraft, Mike Wedelstadt, Mark Noble, Kelly Shryock, Jule McDermid

Heat 3 - Jay Ihrke, Mike Chasteen, Mike Delozier, Rick Gustin, Dan Daniels

Heat 4 - Ricky Kluver, Tim Folkerts, Craig Reetz, Ron Schreiner, Randy Zimmerman

Heat 5 - Jason Hughes, Mark Elliott, John Logue, Mike Sorensen, Corey Dripps

B-main 1 - Randy Zimmerman, Mike Chasteen. Joe McBirnie, Mike Sorensen, Dann Olson

B-main 2 - Mark Elliott, John Logue, Dan Daniels, Jason Cummins, Craig Reetz

A-main - Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Adam Larson Ames, IA, Rick Gustin, Marshalltown, IA, Willy Kraft Lakefield, MN, Randy Zimmerman Fort Scott, KS, John Logue Boone, IA, Mike Sorensen Rochester, MN, Jay Ihrke Dover, MN, Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA, Joe McBirnie Boone, IA, Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS, Jason Cummins New Richmond, MN, Mark Elliott Webster City, IA, Craig Reetz Dunlap, IA, Tyler Prochaska Iowa Falls, IA, Dann Olson Braham, MN, David Siercks Mounds View, MN, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Brad McEwan Storm Lake, IA, Ricky Kluver Alexandria, MN, Jason Toppenberg Ames, IA, Mike Wedestadt Hortonville, WI, Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL

Latest Headlines

Let Simpson help you gear up for 2019

Purchase Simpson, Stilo and HANS safety products today and pay later. Take advantage of

PEM tabbed Official Quick Change of USMTS

Performance Engineering and Manufacturing, LLC (PEM) has signed on as the Official Quick Change of the USMTS for the 2019 racing season. In addition to padding the points funds for U…


Summit USMTS Southern Nationals Highlights

Summit USMTS Southern Series main event highlights from the Summit Racing Equipment USMTS Southern Nationals at the Kennedale Speedway Park in Kennedale, Texas, on Saturday, Nov. 3.

20th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree

USMTS road to $50k goes through Humboldt


USMTS “Mayhem” Shirt

USMTS “Mayhem” Shirt

2018 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design 100% cotton short-sleeve shirt by Arizona Sport Shirts featuring superior quality and vibrant full-color screen print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last. Color: Royal.