usmts caseys

Spaulding wins Darrell Vice Benefit at Quincy

QUINCY, Ill. (Aug. 3, 2001) - After racing did get rained out on Thursday at Aledo Raceway in Aledo, IL. The racing resumed on Friday night at Quincy Raceway in Quincy, IL. Mike Spaulding from Bemidji, MN raced as if he was on a mission taking the lead from polesitter Steve Holzkamper Siloam Springs, AR on lap one and cruising on to victory in the forty lap Simpson Race Products A-main.

Mike Chasteen Creve Couer, IL tried several times to get to the inside of these two drivers, but could never get the job done. After each caution Spaulding would have to deal with Holzkamper and Chasteen for about two laps then Spaulding would pull away from these drivers. For the win Spaulding picked up the $2000 paycheck.

Rounding out the top five was Jason Hughes and Mark Burgtorf. The Harris Auto Racing Heat Races were won by Holzkamper, Tim Weaver, Chasteen, Kevin Peters, and Spaulding. The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Tommy Myer and Mike Marlar.

The racetrack on Friday was probably one of the heaviest tracks since the USMTS has been visiting Quincy as they did get plenty of rain on Thursday night and Friday morning. Drivers did have a tough time with motors on Friday night.

A strong field of thirty-nine cars was on hand with drivers from nine different states.


Heat 1 - Steve Holzkamper, Mark Burgtorf, Jim Roach, Tommy Myer, Sam Burgtorf

Heat 2 - Tim Weaver, Brandon Brown, Mike Marlar, Jimmy Owens, Tim Folkerts

Heat 3 - Mike Chasteen, Bruce Hanford, Michael Long, Kelly Shryock, Jeff Cooley

Heat 4 - Kevin Peters, Henry Delonjay, Ron Schreiner, Tim Donlinger, Mike Karhoff

Heat 5 - Mike Spaulding, Jason Hughes, Darren Bangert, Les Harding, Terry Wilson

B-main 1 - Tommy Myer, Ron Schreiner, Tim Folkerts, Jimmy Owens, Terry Wilson

B-main 2 - Mike Marlar, Kelly Shryock, Tim Donlinger, Sam Burgtorf, Darren Bangert

A-main - Mike Spaulding Bemidji, MN, Steve Holzkamper Gentry, AR, Mike Chasteen Creve Coeur, IL, Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Mark Burgtorf Quincy, IL, Jimmy Owens Newport, TN, Bruce Hanford Davenport, IA, Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Ron Schreiner New Richmond, WI, Kelly Shryock LeMars, IA, Michael Long Canton, MO, Mike Karhoff Quincy, IL, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Sam Burgtorf Quincy, IL, Mike Delozier Carthage, IL, Jim Roach Kohaka, MO, Mike Marlar Winfield, TN, Tim Folkerts Albia, IA, Darren Bangert Bluffs, IL, Tim Weaver Westville, OK, Dan Helm Milan, IL, Henry Delonjay Quincy, IL, Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN, Willy Kraft Lakefield, MN, Terry Wilson Frankford, MO, Brandon Brown Quincy, IL

Latest Headlines

USMTS unveils 20th anniversary 2018 schedule

Officials from the United States Modified Touring Series unveiled next year’s schedule of events today, highlighted by a record top prize of $50,000 awaiting the 2018 USMTS Nation…

USMTS Black Friday Sale begins today!

Are you tossing and turning at night while your brain searches for the answer to ‘What does he want for Christmas?’ Looking for that perfect surprise gift for the race fa…

Gustin an army of one in 2018

Ryan Gustin has won just about every title there is to win with the United States Modified Touring Series, and in 2018 he plans to add another new title to the list: team owner. He&r…


USMTS Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown 81 Speedway 11/4/17

Flag-to-flag main event coverage of the USMTS Modifieds and B-Mods from the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, during the 2nd Annual Park City Chisholm Trail Showdown presented by Kansas High Performance Racing Auction on Saturday, November 4, 2017.

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Pit Tour

Featherlite Fall Jamboree Campground Tour


USMTS “Victory Circle” FlexFit Hat

USMTS “Victory Circle” FlexFit Hat

2017 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant embroidered design print on soft stretchable cotton with one-size-fits-all FlexFit baseball cap. Limited quantities while supplies last.